Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



Buenos Aires, Argentina, August 28, 2013 - The Argentine Volleyball Federation (FIVB) advises that after very intensive communications with the South American Volleyball Confederation, it was established officially that the venue of the Men's Club World Championship will take place for first time in its history at the Brazilian Region of Minas Gerias that will welcome this competition at the Divino Braga Sport Gym in Betim, at the metropolitan area of Belo Horizonte, October 15th - 20th.

The official engagement will be signed beginning of September at the FIVB headquarters in Lausanne, Switzerland by delegates of the team Sada Cruzeiro coached by the Argentine coach Marcelo Mendez and FIVB's President, Ary S. Graça Fo. The official announcement was carried out at Cruzeiro Esporte Club venue in Belo Horizonte, with the presence of Sada Cruzeiro President, Vittorio Medioli; the President of Club Cruzeiro, Gilvan de Pinho; FIVB Delegate and CSV Superintendent, Marcelo Wangler and the CBV coach, Tulio Teixeira.

The first and only time the competition took place in Brazil was in th year 1991, in the city of Sao Paulo. This competition wa created by the International Volleyball Federation in the year 1989 as the most important Club competition world wide. Since the year 2009, when the competition returned to take place, the official venue was the city of Doha, Qatar. Until now, eith edition took place and all of them were won by an Italian Club.

Once more, the World competition will gather 8 clubs from all over the world including teams from Europe, Asia, Africa, South America and Norceca, added to the host team of Sada Cruzeiro.

The eight teams are divided in two preliminary rounds with the best two of each pool qualifying for Semi-Finals in Olympic crossing. The winners of the semi-finals will qualify for the Final match and the losers will compete for the bronze medal and third place. The final will take place October 20th, 2013.

Men's Club World Championship
Brazil - Betim-MG - October 15th - 20th, 2013

October 15th - Tuesday to Friday, October 18th - Preliminary Round - Pools A & B
October 19th - Saturday - Semi-Finals
October 20th - Sunday - 3rd place and final match

Venue: Divino Braga Sport Centre - one of the largest Sport Centre of the State of Minas Gerais - Audience: 7,000.
Training will take place at Contagem Gym.

History of the Men's Club World Championship:

2012 - Venue: Doha, Qatar: 1. Trentino Diatec (Italy) 2. Sada Cruzeiro (Brazil) 3. PGE Skra Belchatow (Poland)
2011 - Venue: Doha, Qatar 1. Trentino Diatec Trento (Italy) 2. KS Jastrzebski Wegiel (Poland) 3. Zenit Kazan (Russia)
2010 - Venue: Doha, Qatar 1. Trentino Betclic (Italy) 2. PGE Skra Belchatow (Poland) 3. Paykan (Iran)
2009 - Venue: Doha, Qatar 1. Trentino Betclic (Italy) 2. PGE Skra Belchatow (Poland) 3. Zenit Kazan (Russia)
1992 - Venue: Treviso, Italy 1. Misura Mediolanum Milano (Italy) 2. Sisley Treviso (Italy) 3. Olympiakos Pireo (Greece)
1991 - Venue: Sao Paulo, Brazil 1. Il Messaggero Ravenna (Italy) 2. EC Banespa Sao Paulo (Brazil) 3. Mediolanum Milano (Italy)
1990 - Venue: Milan, Italy 1. Mediolanum Milano (Italy) 2. Banespa Sao Paulo (Brazil) 3. Maxicono Parma (Italy)
1989 - Venue: Parma, Italy 1. Maxicono Parma (Italy) 2. CSKA Moscow (Russia) 3. CA Pirelli Sao Paulo (Brazil)