Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



Thomas Bach won a gold medal for Germany at the 1976 Olympics as a fencer

Buenos Aires, Argentina, September 10, 2013 - Germany's Thomas Bach has been named President of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) at the 125th IOC Session in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

Bach was chosen to lead the IOC after two rounds of voting in an election with fellow presidential candidates Sergey Bubka (Ukraine), Richard Carrion (Puerto Rico), Ser Miang Ng (Singapore), Denis Oswald (Switzerland) and Ching-kuo Wu (Chinese Taipei).*

“Thank you very much to all of you,” said Bach following his election. “Let us, this great universal orchestra of IOC members, play together in harmony towards a bright future for the Olympic Movement under the leadership of the IOC.”

The announcement was made at a special ceremony held at 12:30 local time. The 59-year-old lawyer succeeds outgoing President Dr. Jacques Rogge (Belgium), who steps down from this role after 12 years in office.

The 1976 Olympic fencing gold medallist will become the ninth President of the IOC since the organisation was founded in 1894.

The IOC President is elected by IOC members by secret ballot for a mandate of eight years, with the possibility to run again for a second, four-year term.

Voting Results
Round 1:
Thomas Bach: 43
Sergey Bubka: 8
Richard Carrion: 23
Ser Miang Ng: 6
Denis Oswald: 7
Ching-kuo Wu: 6

Round 1 tie-break:
Ser Miang Ng: 56
Ching-kuo Wu: 36

Round 2:
Thomas Bach: 49
Sergey Bubka: 4
Richard Carrion: 29
Ser Miang Ng: 6
Denis Oswald: 5
*In alphabetical order

Source: FIVB