Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



Argentina participates in Pool A with the host team of Poland

Warsaw, Poland, January 27, 2014 – Three time defending world champions and world No. 1 Brazil will take on Germany (WR10), Korea (WR21) and Finland (WR30) in addition to the second ranked NORCECA team and the top ranked CAVB side (NORCECA and CAVB host their qualification events in May and February respectively) in Group B following the Drawing of Lots which was held at Warsaw’s Palace of Culture and Science on Monday.

A total of 24 countries were drawn across four pools for the first round of the 18th edition of the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship, which will be held across six different cities (Katowice, Lodz, Wroclaw, Gdansk, Bydgoszcz, Krakow) in Poland from August 30-September 21.

The top 12 teams in the world ranking as of January 2014, were placed across the four pools in accordance with the serpentine system. Hosts Poland (world ranking 5) were placed in position 1 before the remaining 11 teams followed.

The remaining 12 teams were drawn thanks to the help of volleyball legends Vladimir Grbric of Serbia, FIVB Player of the Century from Italy Lorenzo Bernardi and Poland’s Tomasz Wojtowicz.

Hosts Poland received a favourable draw with Australia (WR14), CAVB 3 and Venezuela (WR31) joining them in Pool A along with Argentina (WR7) and Serbia (WR9) who were allocated positions via the serpentine system.

Olympic champions and world No. 2 Russia lead Pool C alongside Bulgaria (WR6) and NORCECA 3 and the drawn CAVB 2, China (WR18) and NORCECA 5.

Pool D is arguably the toughest of the four groups with three time champions Italy joined by NORCECA 1, Iran (WR12), France (WR16), NORCECA 4 and Belgium (WR37).

Pools for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014

Pool A - Poland, Argentina , Serbia, Australia, CAVB 3, Venezuela IN WROCLAW
Pool B - Brazil, NORCECA 2, Germany, CAVB 1, Korea, Finland
Pool C - Russia, Bulgaria, NORCECA 3, CAVB 2, China, NORCECA 5
Pool D - Italy, NORCECA 1, Iran, France, NORCECA 4, Belgium

The Draw was carried out in the presence of FIVB President Dr. Ary S. Graça F° and Poland’s Minister of Sport and Tourism Andrzej Biernat.

A record number of 279 teams participated in the qualification process for the 2014 FIVB Volleyball World Championships. This total, coming from 166 national federations across the five FIVB confederations, represents an increase of 90 teams from the previous best of 214 teams from 119 federations for the 2010 World Championships (compared with 102 in 2006, 72 in 2002 and 63 in 1998).

There were 148 teams that have played in the qualification process for the Men’s World Championship.

Brazil sealed their third straight FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship title in Italy in 2010 after beating Cuba in the final. Serbia completed the podium after beating the home side in the bronze medal match.

The new trophy, specially commissioned for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 to be used for the first time in the Championship was unveiled to the media and public during the Drawing of Lots at Warsaw’s Palace of Culture and Science on Monday.

The new trophy, which is 42.88cm in height and weighs nine kilograms, has set itself apart from other awards in international sporting competitions.

Unique contemporary design

The trophy was constructed using 12 individual pieces, representing each member of a volleyball team. The pieces are brought together in a seamless cylindrical design, symbolising the coming together of the 12 players using the rotation system on the court. The overall shape reflects the speed and elegance of volleyball as well as the volleyball values of purity, performance, power, precision and team work.

Going for gold

The base of the trophy is coated in nickel a simple and common elements representing the resilience of the team in the staring phase of the Championship. The trophy’s gradual move from nickel to gold from its base to its crown, exemplifies the winning team growing in confidence as they work through the stages of the Championship. The trophy’s gold plated crown represents the final achievement of a World Championship title.

Bringing together the best

The coming together of an open minded sports federation, two contemporary product designers and skilled production specialists have made it possible to create something truly extraordinary for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014.

The conceptual design for the trophy was provided by Marco Heer of Achtung! a creative agency known internationally for their work in brand development. Having worked closely with the FIVB for a number of years, the company was responsible for designing the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014 logo on which the design of the trophy was based.

The FIVB then mandated two young product designers from Switzerland, Thilo Alex Brunner and Jörg Mettler to create the new World Championship trophy.

Eichenberger LTDand their mastermind, Juan Franco were responsible for its production. The company specialises in complex metal works for the Swiss watchmaking and jewellery industry.

The trophy was unveiled following the Drawing of Lots for the FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Championship Poland 2014, which determined the makeup of the pools in the first round of their year’s tournament.