Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



Argentina v France with the winner ending on top of Pool D

Paris, France, June 26, 2014 - The sixth and final weekend of the Intercontinental Round of the FIVB World League for Pool D could not be more exciting as France (host country) and Argentina depend on them to define the team that will play the next step, the Final Four in Australia and who will finish its participation on this year's premier competition for National Men's Teams of the World In the city of Mouilleron-Le-Captif this Friday at 15.00 Argentine time will take place the first match while on Sunday, the second match will take place in Paris.

France and Argentina will meet again on the sixth week. These teams have met on 16 previous occasions, with France winning nine times, including the double victories scored on the first week of the World League 2014 in Mendoza, Argentina. Apart from maintaining Pool D leadership, France have now won the last four encounters with Argentina and can qualify for the final round of Group 2 by winning one of the two matches against Argentina. Nonetheless, the Frenchmen will also proceed to the next round by losing twice in a five-setter. To qualify for the final round, Argentina need two wins against the French side with one of those matches ending in a 3-0 or 3-1 score line.

Argentina coached by Julio Velasco arrived to France at the beginning of this week after winning the last six matches (four against Japan at home and away and two v Germany as visiting team) but now will have to face France.

Pool D will be the first pool to finish in the competition and therefore the winner will have more rest than the other teams participating of Australia's Final Four (winners of Pool C, D, E and Australia as host team).

In case of Argentina, coached by Julio Velasco winning the Pool, it will be the fifth participation out of the last six editions in the Final Round. The only time Argentina ended its participation at the Intercontinental Round was in the year 2012.

(FIVB World League 2014 Official Website)
(Photos FeVA)