Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



Cagliari, Italy, November 1, 2014 - With the presence of Argentine Volleyball Federation (FeVA) President at the World Congress, the rivals and the fixture for the Argentine Seniors' Men and Women Teams participation at the FIVB World League and World Grand Prix 2015, the premier International Volleyball Federation annual competitions were settled.

The Argentine Seniors' Women will participate of the World Grand Prix for fifth consecutive season and will host one of the Intercontinental Round weekends v Canada, the Netherlands and Poland, July 10 - 12th, 2015 while the Men's coached by Julio Velasco in Pool 2 will face Cuba, Canada and Bulgaria playing at home on the weekends of May 29th - 31st, June 19th - 21st and June 26th - 28th respectively at the Intercontinental First Phase Round. Soon, the FIVB will confirm all the fixture and calendar of both international competitions.

At the FIVB Congress it was decided that next season's FIVB World League will have a record of 32 teams with the inclusion of Egyot, Kazakhstan, Greece and Montenegro in Pool 3. Just in the year 2012 only 12 teams competed in this annual premier, then in the year 2014 it jumped to 28 with a new playing formula and now with the goal of more participation and more competition all over the world, the figure was settled for 32 national teams.

World Grand Prix 2015:

The dates and structure for the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix 2015 groups 2 and 3 were decided at the World Grand Prix Council meeting in Cagliari, Italy on Friday with provisional dates for all three groups for the 2016 edition also set.

Next year’s tournament will run from June 26 – July 26 with the Group 1 Finals set to be held in Omaha, USA for the first time.

Group 2 matches for the 2015 edition of the tournament will begin on the weekend of July 3 – 5 with the second round held a week later from July 10 – 12. The Finals will then take place in Poland from July 31 to August 1.

Bulgaria, Croatia and Czech Republic have all been promoted from Group 3 to Group 2 and will join Argentina, Canada, the Netherlands, Poland and Puerto Rico.

Teams from Group 3 will begin a week earlier from June 26 – 28 with the second round held from July 3 – 5. The Finals will take place in Australia from July 10 – 12.

Cuba finished eighth in the 2014 World Grand Prix Group 2 ranking and were relegated to Group 3 as were Peru. They join Algeria, Australia, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Mexico and newcomers Colombia.

Both groups will feature eight teams competing across two weeks of action in four pools. The pools will be contested in a round robin system with one host country per tournament totalling 24 matches per group.

The hosts and the three highest teams from each group will qualify for their respective finals.

The FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix was expanded to 28 countries for the first time in 2013 in an effort to spread the game into new territories.

Brazil won their 10th FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix title in 2014 with Japan winning their first ever medal in the tournament picking up silver. Russia completed the podium by winning bronze, their 12th medal in the premier annual women’s volleyball tournament.

FIVB World League 2015:

The FIVB Volleyball World League will feature a record 32 participating countries in 2015 following the addition of Egypt, Kazakhstan, Greece and Montenegro into Group 3, confirmed at a World League Group 2 and Group 3 meeting, held in Cagliari, Italy on Friday.

The World League continues to innovate and inspire, providing opportunities for countries to participate at the highest level. Since 2012, the premier annual men’s volleyball competition has seen tremendous growth having expanded from 12 teams two years ago, to 18 in 2013 and 28 in 2014.

Montenegro are the Euro League winners with Greece as Euro League runner’s up while Kazakhstan finished third in the AVC Cup and Egypt are African Nations champions.

The World League Group 2 and 3 meeting also confirmed the competition calendar and formula for 2015.

Group 2 matches for the 2015 edition of the tournament will begin on the weekend of May 16-19, with the second round held a week later on May 29-31. The Group 2 Finals will take place in Bulgaria from July 10-11, with four teams participating – hosts Bulgaria and the winner of each pool.

Teams from Group 3, on the other hand, will begin their campaigns on June 12-14, with the second round held on June 19-21. The Group 3 Finals will see four teams compete from June 26-28.

The second group will feature 12 teams split into three pools C, D and E, with the teams involved playing home and away for a total of 12 matches per team and 72 matches in total. Four teams – the host country and the winners of the three pools - will qualify for the Group 2 Finals with a possibility of qualification for the Group 1 Final 6. Promotion and relegation from the group will also be at stake in the group.

The teams competing in Group 2 in 2015 are: Argentina, Germany, Bulgaria, Cuba, France, Canada, Korea, Finland, Belgium, the Netherlands, the Czech Republic and Portugal. Cuba join Group 2 after being promoted from Group 3 in 2014, while Bulgaria feature in the group after being relegated from Group 1.

In Group 3, 12 teams will be split into three pools F, G and H. Teams involved will play in a round robin system, with one host country per tournament. Two rounds will feature six matches per team. Four teams – the host country and the winners of the three pools - will participate in the Finals.

The list of teams in Group 3 includes: Tunisia, China, Japan, Greece, Montenegro, Kazakhstan, Egypt, Mexico, Puerto Rico, Turkey, Slovakia and Spain. Japan were relegated from Group 2 in 2014.

Earlier in July, the FIVB World League Council confirmed the participants - Pool A will include Italy, Brazil, Serbia and Australia, while Pool B will see Russia take on USA, Poland and Iran - and the schedule of Group 1 Finals.