Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



Women's Schedule:

Lausanne, Switzerland, June 7, 2016 – Hosts and defending Olympic champions Brazil will begin their Olympic Games Rio de Janeiro 2016 campaign against Olympic newcomers Cameroon while world champions USA clash with NORCECA rivals and debutants Puerto Rico and Argentina as the full schedule for the women’s tournament is unveiled.

Related information:
Rio 2016 Olympic Games

Olympic qualification process

An all-Asian affair will open the event as Japan meet Korea, the same team they defeated to claim bronze at London 2012.

FIVB Volleyball Women’s World Cup winners China will then take on the Netherlands followed by the Brazil v Cameroon and USA v Puerto Rico matches.

Rounding out the opening day will be Russia against Argentina – who will also be making their Olympic bow – and Serbia against Italy in an all-European showdown.

Some key match-ups across the first round include a re-match of the 2014 World Championship final between USA and China on August 14, a repeat of the World Championship semifinal as Italy clash with China on August 8 and Brazil taking on Japan in a re-run of their London 2012 semifinal on August 10.

The 12 teams have been split into two pools of six, with the top four qualifying for the quarterfinals.

All matches will take place at the iconic Maracanãzinho, with three sessions a day. Each session will include two matches, with the first session running from 09:30 to 13:20, the second session from 15:00 to 18:50 and the third session from 20:30 to 00:20, all local time.

Five of the six teams will arrive in Rio with some knowledge of at least one of their opponents, with many set to clash during the FIVB Volleyball World Grand Prix.

USA will meet China twice – on June 12 and 26 – as well as the Netherlands on June 25. China will also clash with Serbia on June 18 and the Netherlands on June 24, while the Serbians will themselves meet European rivals Italy on June 18.

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games women’s volleyball tournament will take place from August 6 to 20.

Las Panteras in Pool A will make their debut on Saturday, August 6 at 20.30 local time at the Women's Preliminary Round in Match 5 and then, every 48 hours they will face on Monday, August 8 at 22.35 (match 12) the host team of Brazil; on Wednesday, August 10th at 20.30 (match 17) Korea; on Friday, August 12 at 11.35 Cameron and on Sunday, August 14 at 20.30 (Match 29) Japan, respectively.

Men's Pools:

The Argentine Seniors' Men Team today found out its rivals for the Olympic Games Rio de Janeiro 2016. The team coached by Julio Velasco will face in Pool B, Poland, Russia, Iran, Cuba and Egypt. At the competition there will be matches with Argentine coaches facing each other as Iran qualified with Raul Lozano's coaching, Juan Manuel Cichello as his Assistant Coach and Andres Esper, as trainer.

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games men’s volleyball tournament pool line-up has been officially confirmed following completion of the Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournament, with teams learning their fate just under two months from the start of the event.

The Men’s Olympic Qualification Tournaments in Japan and Mexico on Sunday confirmed the final five spots, with Poland, Iran, France, Canada and Mexico all claiming the last berths.

They will join hosts Brazil, FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup winners and runners-up USA and Italy respectively, African Continental Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Egypt, European Continental Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Russia, South American Continental Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Argentina and NORCECA Continental Olympic Qualification Tournament winners Cuba.

Pool A will see the host country of Brazil face Italy, USA, Canada, France and Mexico while Pool B headed by Russia includes also Argentina, Iran, Cuba and Egypt.

The teams have been divided into two pools of six, with the top four sides from each progressing to the elimination round.

The pools were allocated using the serpentine system, with those with the highest world ranking as of January 1, 2016 drawn first into Pool B after hosts Brazil (who are automatically placed in Pool A).

Hosts Brazil will have a challenge on their hands, with the world No.1 set to take on FIVB Volleyball Men’s World Cup winners USA, runners-up Italy and FIVB Volleyball World League and European champions France in Pool A.

Brazil beat Italy in the Semi-finals of the London 2012 Olympic Games but were beaten by USA in the pool stage. They were also downed by France during last year’s World League Finals at the Maracanãzinho, the same venue that will host the Olympic Games.

USA will have confidence knowing that they have beaten both France and Italy in the last 12 months. However, the side have not beaten Brazil in the last year and will be looking to find a way to control the hosts.

Canada and Mexico complete the group, and with the former winning bronze at last year’s Pan American Games and finding the spirit to qualify for the Games in Japan on June 5, they will fancy their chances against the top teams.

It will be an Olympic versus world champion showdown in Pool B, with London 2012 gold medallists Russia set to meet World Championship 2014 winners Poland. The Poles won all four of their World League matches with Russia during last year’s World League and will be confident they have the form to beat them. But they were defeated in five sets by the world No.3 at the European Olympic Qualification Tournament in Berlin, Germany in January which is something that Stephane Antiga’s team will be looking to address.

The ever-improving Iranians, now under the guidance of legendary Argentinean coach Raul Lozano, will be breathing down the necks of both sides however. They beat Poland as recently as June 4, seeing them off in four sets at the Olympic qualifier in Japan, albeit after Poland had booked their Rio 2016 berth.

Argentina will also be looking to the likes of the talismanic Luciano De Cecco and Sebastian Solé to push them into the quarterfinals and beyond. That is how far they progressed in 2012, with 2016 hosts Brazil ending their campaign in straight sets. Both Solé and De Cecco played that day, as did Nicolas Uriate, Nicolas Bruno, Rodrigo Quiroga, Pablo Crer and a host of other Argentinean stars who will be desperate to improve on that result in Rio.

Cuba and Egypt complete the group, with the former looking to revive the glory days of the 1976 Montreal Olympics bronze-medal winning side and the latter aiming for a top 10 finish for the first time after placing 11th at Beijing 2008 and Athens 2004 and 10th at Los Angeles 1984.

The Rio 2016 Olympic Games men’s volleyball tournament runs from August 7 until August 21.