Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español




In their second match of the second phase of the U21 World Championship in Czech Republic, the Youth Team lost to Brazil 3-0 with partials of 25-20, 25-23 and 25-23. Geronimo Elgueta was the top scorer of the match with 16 points. With this result, Argentina needs Canada to beat Russia in the afternoon to get a chance to get into the semi-finals. The team led by Alejandro Grossi will close the group stage on Thursday from 10am against the Canadians.

In the beginning, Brazil took important advantages (11-5) playing well in service and counterattck but the double change with Giraudo and Elgueta gave results to Argentina (13-15). In the closing, Brazil took off again with a more regular task to take the first 25-23.

In the second half, Elgueta continued in good level for an Argentine dominance for the 8-7 and 16-13 in which the team that directs Grossi showed a better game in attack and block. Nevertheless, in the definition Brazil returned to be forceful in block and also closed better in counterattack to turn the scoreboard 22-19. A block ended up giving this set to Brazil 25-23.

The third partial had a similar development: Argentina came up 13-10, but Brazil had their opposite hitter Roque inspired to equalize the score. In a close point-to-point, Brazil finally won it 25-23 after a controversial play to resolve the victory in straight sets.

Argentina: Ignacio Roberts (1), Juan Bucciarelli (-); Liam Arreche (7), Agustin Loser (4); Felipe Benavidez (7), Jan Martinez (6). Libero: Santiago Arroyo. DT: Alejandro Grossi. Ingresaron: Geronimo Elgueta (16), Matias Giraudo (2), Luciano Palonsky (1).

Brazil: Matheus Silva (2), Felipe Roque (5); Daniel Mascarenhas (7), Gabriel Bertolini (9); Alexandre Elias (5), Victor Cardoso (3). Líbero: Maique Nascimento. DT: Nery Tambeiro. Ingresaron: Pablo Natán (13), Davy Moraes (7), Henrique Dantas (-), Luis Rodrigues (-).