Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español




This Thursday, the Youth National Team lost to Canada by 3-2 with partials of 23-25, 21-25, 25-22, 25-22 and 15-11. Juan Bucciarelli was the top scorer with 20 points, while Taryq Sani scored 25 for the Canadians. Argentina will play next Saturday and Sunday to define positions from the fifth to the eighth place.

The first set began in favor of Canada, who took advantage of 8-5 and 16-13 in the technical time outs with moments of greater solidity in attack and counterattack. However, towards the closing Argentina worked well from the service, found Bucciarelli, Martinez and Benavidez and ended up winning 25-23.

In the second set, Argentina started better and despite some improvement in Canada, was up in both technical time outs: 8-6 and 16-14. With a good work in block and counterattack and from Martinez and Benavidez's hands, the Argentines closed it by 25-21.

In the third set, Canada hit first and took off 8-6 and 16-13 against an already not so effective Argentine team. Nevertheless, the young men tie in 22 but Canada was more forceful for the discount, 25-22.

In the fourth chapter, after Canada's 8-7 on the first technical time out, Argentina (that appealed to Loser and Palonsky entrances and Bucciarelli's return) showed intermittence at their level and Canada played well in block and scored with Loeppky for the 16-14. Loeppky himself ended up being important for his team to lead the game to tie break, 25-22.

The fifth had a similar development to the third and fourth set and Canada was more solid in attack and block to lead 8-5. Argentina looked for Bucciarelli, but the Canadians maintained the difference for the final 15-11.

Argentina: Ignacio Roberts (), Juan Bucciarelli (20), Liam Arreche (5), Sergio Soria (12), Jan Martinez (13), Felipe Benavidez (12). Libero: Santiago Arroyo. Substitutions: Agustin Loser (3), Matias Giraudo (3), Geronimo Elgueta (1), Luciano Palonsky (5), Manuel Balague.

Canada: Derek Epp, Taryq Sani (25), Fynnian Lionel Mccarthy (3), Matthew Passalent (11), Eric Loeppky (22), Deanan Gyimah (17). Libero: Jordan Pereira. Substitutions: Jesse Elser (1), Mikael Clegg (1), Matthew Mawdsley (4).