Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



The great objective of 2018 for our National Teams is on its countdown and new details of what will be the most important events of the calendar are unveiled. Now the cities that will be venues were announced and while Japan will have six scenarios, Italy and Bulgaria will have nine locations for the competition of the 24 national teams.

On the male side, the World Championship will be played between September 10 and 30, while the female tournament will be between September 29 and October 20. In both cases, the first round will consist of four zones of six teams. From there they will qualify the best four of each group and they will form two zones of eight. The last step will be the classification of the three best teams of each group to the third and final round divided into two zones of three. The two best will reach the semifinals and from there it will be opened the great definition of the tournament.

For the male branch, the first and second phases will be carried out in eight cities, five Italian and three Bulgarian. Beyond Turin, capital of the Piedmont region and home of the finals at the Pala Alpitour stadium with capacity for 15,657 people, the Italian cities and stadiums that will serve as venues will be the following: Bari with its Palaflorio stadium (Capacity 5,080), the Unipol Arena in Bologna (Capacity 11,000), the Nelson Mandela Forum in Florence (Capacity 7,500), the Di Assago Forum in Milan (Capacity 12,657) and the Foro Italico in Rome (Capacity 11,000). For its part, the three Bulgarian cities that will be headquarters in the first and second round will be Sofia, Varna and Ruse.

In the case of women, there will be five venues that will be added to Yokohama, where the finals will be played and which will have a special flavour since it was one of the cities that received the discipline on its Olympic debut in 1964. The stage of the finals will be the Yokohama Arena with capacity for 15,000 people. Then, five cities and stadiums will receive the 24 National Teams: in the case of Sapporo will be in the Hokkaido Prefectural Sports Center (Capacity 7,000), in the city of Kobe in the center of Japan will be the Kobe Green Arena (Capacity 6,000) and then the Hamamatsu Arena of the city of the same name (Capacity 5,000), the Central Gymnasium of the Municipality of Osaka (Capacity 8,000) and the Nippon Gaishi Hall of Nagoya (Capacity 8,000).

Known the cities and the participating teams in each branch, it only remains to know the drawing of lots of the groups to begin to prepare the event that will have its 18th edition for women and 19th for men.