Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español



In the early hours of this Thursday in Tokyo, Japan, the draw for the first phase of the 2018 Women's World Championship was held, and we knew the rivals of the first round for the Argentine National Team, The Panthers, that will play their sixth World Championship. Those led by Guillermo Orduna will face home team, Netherlands, Germany, Cameroon and Mexico in Pool A.

The Keio Plaza Hotel was the venue chosen to give another step on the road to the World Championship and The Panthers, like the men's team, will be part of Group A together with host Japan in the contest to be held between September 29 and on October 20. In addition, Argentina will face Cameroon, champion of the African qualifier and rival in Rio 2016; Germany, qualified through the European qualifier as the winner of their group; Netherlands, winner of the European third round qualifier; and Mexico, winner of their group in the NORCECA qualifier.

The competition format of the World Championship will be the same in both branches, with 24 teams divided into 4 zones of six; the best four of each one will have access to the second round after having faced all against all. The 16 teams will then be divided into two groups of eight with the leaders of Groups A and D in one side, and those of Groups B and C in another.

The three best positioned of that second stage will qualify to the defining instance, again with the winners on separated groups and the second and third ones to be drawn. In that third stage the teams will face one against each other so that the best two from each zone go to the semifinals and define the teams that will go for the title.

Pool A: Japan, Netherlands, Argentina, Germany, Cameroon and Mexico.
Pool B: China, Italy, Turkey, Bulgaria, Canada and Cuba.
Pool C: USA, Russia, South Korea, Thailand, Azerbaijan and Trinidad and Tobago.
Pool D: Serbia, Brazil, Dominican Republic, Puerto Rico, Kazakhstan and Kenya.