Federación del Voleibol Argentino Fédération Internationale de Volleyball Confederación Sudamericana de Voleibol Centro de Desarrollo Regional del Voleibol" Asociación de Clubes Liga Argentina de Voleibol Ente Nacional de Alto Rendimiento Deportivo Secretaría de Deporte de la Nación

FeVA - Argentine Volleyball Federation

English Español




After its arrival in Japan, the Argentine National Team of Marcelo Mendez intensified its work in the Panasonic Sports Center of Osaka thinking on its trip to Ningbo, China, where from Friday it will face the Olympic Qualifier Tournament against Canada, Finland and the local team.

Argentina trained at the Panasonic Panthers' facilities after the adaptation and looking for its best shape for the most important commitment of the season. The team will now travel to China, where they will work on the final details before Friday's debut against Canada.

For the first time, the qualifiers will be played in a first round of intercontinental tournaments distributed in six simultaneous venues where, from Friday to Sunday, the first six qualified teams to Tokyo 2020 will be known. The winners of each pool will join host Japan, which already awaits competition in the Olympic Games. In addition to Ningbo, there will be action in St. Petersburg (Russia), Varna (Bulgaria), Rotterdam (Netherlands), Gdansk (Poland) and Bari (Italy).

24 teams will seek to secure their participation in this first stage that will leave only five remaining places to be determined in the continental tournaments of 2020. That will be the second qualification chance for those teams that do not achieve their quota this weekend. In the case of Argentina, a tournament organized by the South American Confederation would be played, as will happen with Las Panteras, which failed to win in the intercontinental qualifier.

The competition will have a round robin format and the one that tops the standing (always with number of victories as the main classification criteria) will get the spot available. After the game against Canada, Argentina will play on Saturday against Finland and will close the tournament against China on Sunday.

The roster of the national team includes Luciano De Cecco, Nicolás Uriarte, Bruno Lima, Federico Pereyra, Sebastián Solé, Pablo Crer, Agustín Loser, Martín Ramos, Facundo Conte, Ezequiel Palacios, Cristian Poglajen, Nicolás Méndez, Alexis González y Santiago Danani.